Dakar joins the UNESCO Creative Cities Network !

As a result of the 2014 Call for applications, UNESCO Director-General, Irina Bokova, designated 28 cities, from 19 countries, as new members of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network. UNESCO Creative Cities Network is pleased to welcome the following cities within its seven thematic areas (Craft and Folk Arts, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Media Arts and Music): Bilbao (Spain) – Design Busan (Republic of Korea) – Film Curitiba (Brazil) – Design Dakar (Senegal) – Media Arts Dundee (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) – Design Dunedin (New Zealand) – Literature Florianopolis (Brazil) – Gastronomy Galway (Ireland) – Film Granada (Spain) – Literature Gwangju (Republic of Korea) – Media Arts Hamamatsu (Japan) – Music Hanover (Germany) – Music Heidelberg (Germany) – Literature Helsinki (Finland) – Design Jacmel (Haiti) – Crafts & Folk Arts Jingdezhen (China) – Crafts & Folk Arts Linz (Austria) – Media Arts Mannheim (Germany) – Music Nassau (Bahamas) – Crafts & Folk Arts Pekalongan (Indonesia) – Crafts & Folk Arts Prague (Czech Republic) – Literature Shunde (China) – Gastronomy Sofia (Bulgaria) – Film Suzhou (China) – Crafts & Folk Arts Tel Aviv-Yafo (Israel) – Media Arts Tsuruoka (Japan) – Gastronomy Turin (Italy) – Design York (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) – Media Arts By joining the Network, cities commit to collaborate and develop partnerships with a view to promoting creativity and cultural industries, to share best practices, to strengthen participation in cultural life, and to integrate culture in economic and social development plans. The UNESCO Creative Cities Network now comprises 69 cities that have identified culture and creativity as a strategic driver for sustainable urban development. http://www.unesco.org/new/en/culture/themes/creativity/creative-cities-network/

News from elsewhere 2014/12/25

Share this article: